Introduction: Pistos

Say hi to the others - post an informative presentation of yourself. Follow these instructions.
Forum rules
Every presentation should be it's own separate thread. Each person is entitled to only one presentation. Follow these instructions.
Pistos
Introduction: Pistos

Post by Pistos » Thu Jun 23, 2016 16:23

Hi.

I am a relative noob when it comes to TCGs/CCGs. I've never played with physical cards, and the only experience I have is with Hearthstone. I enjoyed that for a while, until I realized how it was subtly Pay to Win, even if ostensibly "free to play". You also had to keep up with the releases to stay competitive. So, I was turned off of Hearthstone, but the card game genre is still interesting to me. So, I went websearching for "open source CCG", and found WTactics.

One thing I'll say is that, if it's at all possible (or even "easy") to play WTactics online, your websites (main site and wiki) do not at all make it obvious how to do so. There's lots of *references* about how you might do it, but no actual concise instructions in one single place. You may consider putting a big "Play Now!" call-to-action button on the home page of wtactics.org, which redirects you to a functional Sandscape server, or however it is one is supposed to quickly get started playing online, to get a feel for the game, the artwork, the rules.

I have many years of software development experience, and I believe I'm rather more tenacious than the average websurfer, so for me not to be able to find a way to play without printing out the cards is saying a lot.

So, I'm still interested in trying this game out. Can anyone provide pointers on how to play a game or two of WTactics online?
snowdrop
developer

Re: Introduction: Pistos

Post by snowdrop » Wed Jun 29, 2016 06:09

I am a relative noob when it comes to TCGs/CCGs. I've never played with physical cards, and the only experience I have is with Hearthstone.