Honourable Aristocrat

Post Reply
User avatar
Erundil
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 23:36

Honourable Aristocrat

Post by Erundil » Fri Jun 14, 2013 17:55

Cost 1 - 2
Type: Creature

When Honorable Aristocrat is discarded from a front, produce 2 gold.
1/1
Last edited by Erundil on Mon Jul 08, 2013 00:25, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
snowdrop
developer
Posts: 794
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 15:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Honourable Aristocrat

Post by snowdrop » Sun Jun 16, 2013 15:49

What is it's combat stats?

0/1?

Also, When writing it's cost, I guess 1-2 means 1 gold and 2 requirement?
User avatar
Erundil
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 23:36

Re: Honourable Aristocrat

Post by Erundil » Thu Jun 27, 2013 09:32

I need to check if it was actually 1/1

Yes, 1 gold, 2 threshold.
saart
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 17:24

Re: Honourable Aristocrat

Post by saart » Thu Apr 28, 2016 15:13

Not quite sure how the rules work here, but the card seems pretty busted.

Are the gold permanents? If so this is equivalent to a one sided Veteran Explorer from Magic, which would be absurd. If the gold are lost then the card incentivize combo decks that want to chain gold generators and card draw.

A good rule of thumb with mana generator is to have the mana generated be inferior to the cost, so that at least you need to wait a turn before getting mana advantages.

My version would be:

3 - 2 - 2/2
When I die, generate 2 (permanent) gold
User avatar
snowdrop
developer
Posts: 794
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 15:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Honourable Aristocrat

Post by snowdrop » Thu Apr 28, 2016 16:05

No, it generates 2 gold, non-permanent. In MTG lingo it would be "generate 2 colourless mana". (You are right though that there are resource cards that do indeed produce gold when marked)
A good rule of thumb with mana generator is to have the mana generated be inferior to the cost, so that at least you need to wait a turn before getting mana advantages.
In most cases you will anyhow, since the card can't attack same turn it comes into play.

I would redo it into:

Code: Select all

2 Gold
1/1

Produce 2 gold when I am put into grave.
Pricing is decided by mu guestimate: It costs +1 because it has 1/1, and it costs another +1 because it has a normal ability. I can't imagine this card is broken: You pay 2 gold to get it into play, and at a later time you get those 2 back and have either attacked or blocked with it. This took up 1 slot in your deck. The drawback is this: If you defend and it dies (which it will 90%) then you get two gold during the oppponents turn, meaning you can only use it to play an event card or gold cost ability. So, basically you will want to be the one that dictates when it dies, and in most cases it will be as an attacker.
ngoeminne
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 15:34

Re: Honourable Aristocrat

Post by ngoeminne » Sat May 14, 2016 19:06

Hey folks,

I've added the honourable aristocrat to the card db, it's the first card I took from the forum.
2 gold, 1/1 creature, produces 2 gold when dies.

It's in the first HoN deck as well, called 'Economics'

Kind regards,
Nico
Post Reply