knitter: Hi everyone

Say hi to the others - post an informative presentation of yourself. Follow these instructions.
Forum rules
Every presentation should be it's own separate thread. Each person is entitled to only one presentation. Follow these instructions.
Knitter
developer
knitter: Hi everyone

Post by Knitter » Mon Jan 17, 2011 16:11

Already said it but hi, again

My name's Sérgio Lopes, mostly known as Knitter or slopes if you visit IRC, I'm a 28 year old Portuguese freelance programmer, entrepreneur and teacher, which basically stands for "no steady income", living in Leiria, Portugal.

I'll be working on translating WTactics to Portuguese and spreading the word around using my native language.

I've already translated or helped translate some free software projects, GetSimple, FreeCol, ProjectPier, ntfg-3g are some, currently trying desperately to catch the same translation status as other languages in Battle for Wesnoth project.

I have a Bachelor degree in Computer Science, what we here call a Licenciatura de Bolonha em Engenharia Informática, and have a small passion for the Java platform and related technologies. Currently I do most of my work in PHP since I mostly develop web based applications (not websites) but have experience in several other programming languages.

I love fantasy books, anime (really addicted in anime :) ) and listing to good Portuguese music and I can honestly say that I have never played a card game like WTactics... I've actually never played a card game or any other tabletop game for that matter... maybe one if monopoly counts. I had a friend once trying to teach me Magic the Gathering but I never learned, he was a good teacher, I was not the perfect student and I was more interested in RPG like Icewind Dale, Fallout, etc.

Now I play only WoW, you can find me in The Venture CO server, European version.