Introduction Jade

Say hi to the others - post an informative presentation of yourself. Follow these instructions.
Forum rules
Every presentation should be it's own separate thread. Each person is entitled to only one presentation. Follow these instructions.
Jadedrakerider
Introduction Jade

Post by Jadedrakerider » Tue May 17, 2016 22:06

Hello everybody,

I am an inexperience coder in the US. I came across the project because I had an idea for a CCG, and I had wondered if anybody started an open source project that I could contribute to. Here you are!

I just discovered WTactics today, and as such I am learning much about the rulesets ORC and ARC.

I have a bit of knowledge programming console program with Java and C++. I have been a casual player of a couple of TCG's in the past.

I especially loved the idea of a game that is just as playable online as it is on the internet. I am especially taken with the idea of porting this to mobile devices.

In the long term, I can certainly see this project becoming self-sustaining money wise. I have a few ideas for this, but this something farther in the future.

I do have concerns over the complexity of the ORC and ARC. That being said, the fact that there are multiple rule sets is a tremendous boon as rule sets can be customized and used within the same framework. I would like to develop a rule set.

I have not participated in an open source project before -- so I would appreciate a little guidance in picking out a piece of the project to work on.
snowdrop
developer

Re: Introduction Jade

Post by snowdrop » Wed May 18, 2016 23:31

Welcome aboard Jade.

As for the game on mobile platforms - it would be supercool, yet nothing that is being worked on by anyone currently. Then again, many general engines / frameworks already run on multiple platforms including the mobile ones, albeit none of them are ccg specific to my knowledge.