Is cardscape usable?

Development of our card database & card dev. tool. Used as the Gatherer & to empower the community to create new cards. Lead dev: Knitter
Locked
User avatar
Q_x
developer
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 15:10

Is cardscape usable?

Post by Q_x » Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:58

I'm still a little bit unsure...
Can we use it for production as it is? I know the problems we have and limitations, but can we be sure that the database will not be wiped clean? Can I promote/demote cards, edit and comment without loosing all this stuff someday? Or should we stick to forums?
I'm the filthy bastard you wish you never met.
User avatar
pennomi
developer
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 02:11
Location: Utah, United States

Re: Is cardscape usable?

Post by pennomi » Wed Feb 09, 2011 17:07

Q_x wrote:I'm still a little bit unsure...
Can we use it for production as it is? I know the problems we have and limitations, but can we be sure that the database will not be wiped clean? Can I promote/demote cards, edit and comment without loosing all this stuff someday? Or should we stick to forums?
Valid concerns. I have never coded a CMS this big before, so I can't promise you that we won't lose data. However, I am very confident (99+% confident) that unless we specifically do something to intentionally wipe the database, it will be okay.

If there are large database changes (for example, we change the rules or decide to do cardscape differently), we will have to clean the database out, but an upgrade script would be sufficient to migrate all of the existing data to the new implementation.

Also, I have fixed the browser-specific problems we were discussing over IRC, but have not yet uploaded then to the server. I'll do that as soon as I can.
User avatar
Q_x
developer
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 15:10

Re: Is cardscape usable?

Post by Q_x » Wed Feb 09, 2011 17:59

Mighty good news, thanks for that :)
I'm the filthy bastard you wish you never met.
User avatar
pennomi
developer
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 02:11
Location: Utah, United States

Re: Is cardscape usable?

Post by pennomi » Wed Feb 09, 2011 19:19

The fix on the image uploader is now on the website. All non-IE browsers should work fine. If they don't please tell me and I'll make a fix.
Locked